One woman and her dog!

…..A MESSAGE FROM ONE OF OUR CAFOD SUPPORTERS WHO IS DOING THE GREAT NORTH RUN ON SEPTEMBER 18TH TO RAISE MONEY FOR CAFOD

“My name is Anita McDonnell. I live in Downholland in West Lancashire. I’m Deputy Headteacher at St. Gregory’s Catholic Primary School in Lydiate, Merseyside.I have three sons (22, 19 & 17), a daft dog and a very supportive husband!! I also love beekeeping and am secretary of the Southport & Formby beekeeping branch.I was born and grew up in South Shields, and moved to Liverpool when I came to study for my degree.

I’ve ran in several Great North Runs before (I think this is my 10th…I’ve lost count!). I ran in the very first one when I was just 14 years old! Coming from South Shields, it always felt like I was running back home, which made the route much easier. I ran last year’s Great North Run for CAFOD with my sister Noreen Coltman (both of us dressed as ‘Nuns on the run’!) who is a journalist with The Newcastle Chronicle & Journal. Between us we raised £1000 last year, and we hope to raise more this year! Children and parents at my school were very generous with their donations for CAFOD.

We are both running for CAFOD again this year because of the excellent development and relief work it does in many countries to tackle poverty and encourage development. CAFOD is always at the forefront of areas where our brothers and sisters in the world are suffering and dying through natural disasters and war. 

My youngest son, Eoin is also running his first Great North Run, whom I’m sure will complete it in half my time! I will also be running with my canine running partner, ‘Murphy’, my Tebetian terrier in our CAFOD running vests!”

…..BEST OF LUCK ANITA, CAROLINE MURRAY (WHO IS ALSO DOING THE GREAT NORTH RUN AND IS FROM OUR ARCHDIOCESE), EOIN AND OF COURSE NOT FORGETTING ‘MURPHY.’

Leave a Reply

